Bacon Wrapped Filet with Herbed Garlic Butter and Roasted Baby Red Potatoes

Bacon Wrapped Filet with Herbed Garlic Butter and Roasted Baby Red Potatoes

I am so sorry, I completely forgot to post yesterday. I got a little of my daily schedule and everything fell apart.

While browsing through my local meat case, I was shocked to see the filet migion priced at $20 a pop. Now, for some people, they might have gone ahead and purchased the meat, but I could not bring myself to stand for such price gouging. Instead, I purchased 5oz bacon wrapped sirloin and they were just as satisfying, I can assure you. Particularly satisfying because now I have $35 extra dollars to spend on shoes!

Don’t be shy about serving your guests a cheaper cut of meat; just make sure that you cook it properly. No one wants an expensive steak that has been cooked all to hell, or a cheap steak that is too rare to eat, unless, you are into that sort of thing. Moderation is best, besides, the more money you save by buying a sirloin filet or a strip steak, the more money you have to restock your bar with all of Mr. Bond’s (and my), premium favorites.

When entertaining, corners sometimes need to be cut, but no not, I repeat, DO NOT skimp on the herbed butter. I am telling you, the butter took the whole thing to another level. My husband proclaimed that it was the best steak he had ever had, while he proceeded to smear bite after bite with the delectable herb garlic butter. Butter hides all sins, that make have occurred in the cooking process. The roasted baby reds finished with truffle oil, were also out of this world. Creamy inside and crispy outside, they tasted like they were decedent but, in reality were probably pretty healthy compared to their delicious cousin, the mashed potatoes. For veggies, I chose to serve a simple salad with homemade creamy balsamic dressing, in my martini glasses, but you could certainly roast up some asparagus or blanch some French green beans. This meal was great, elegant and large enough to entertain with but not so complicated that you come to the table looking frazzled. Don’t worry about trying to get everyone’s steak done to their exact specifics, go with an overall medium and everyone should be happy.

Herbed Garlic Butter

The easy garlic herbed butter is a spin on the famous deburgo butter that dons every menu in my hometown. You can only find it in Des Moines, but it is so worth the drive. Rich, garlicky and it looks so beautiful cascading down a perfectly seared filet. Deburgo butter may be a regional specialty but I promise, everyone at your party will love this little slice of Des Moines.

Herbed Garlic Butter (Deburgo Butter)

Time: 1 hour for warming, 10 mins prep   Serves: 6-8

1 stick butter
4 cloves garlic, pressed or micoplaned
1 1/2 tablespoons parsley
2 teaspoons garlic salt
1 teaspoon thyme
foil, for rolling

Let butter come to room temperature. No not microwave. When the butter is soft and malleable, add garlic, parsley, garlic salt and thyme. It is important to press or microplane the garlic because, you also want a bit on the liquid the garlic gives off in the butter. Once all ingredients are well mixed, form a long log on one end of the foil. Make sure butter log is about an inch in diameter; roll foil over and refrigerate for at least an hour, but up to two days.

Bacon Wrapped Filet

Now on to the filet! We are a medium-well sort of people, so feel to ignore a lot of what I say if you desire a different level of doneness. We also don’t own a barbeque grill, but I feel that steaks are best cooked in cast iron; but once again, if you want grill these babies, feel free. One universal tip I can provide, is to make sure that you let your steaks come to room temperature before you sear them. It makes such a huge difference in the quality of sear and you get a more accurate cooking time.

Bacon Wrapped Filet
Time: 15-20 mins

Filet
Salt
Pepper
Olive Oil

In a heavy cast iron pan, heat three tablespoons olive oil over high heat. While pan is heating, generously salt and pepper both sides of the filets.  Once the pan is screaming hot, drop steaks in. Space them so they don’t touch at all. Leave them in the pan to sear for 4-5 minutes as side without touching. After both sides have a golden sear, turn heat off. Keep steaks in pan for another 10 minutes, while turning every five minutes, the heat will continue to cook them. Let steaks sit on plate for 5 minutes before serving so all juices stay in. Top with herb garlic butter.

Roasted Baby Reds with Truffle Oil

If there is one thing you try out of today’s recipes, try these potatoes! I have never been a huge fan of baby red potatoes; perhaps it’s because I always stuggled to finish off my veggies and potatoes, when I was little; my plate was littered with carrots and baby reds, I would choke them down, just to get more of my Mom’s pot roast. (I am sure some of you out there feel the same way). But, put your childhood trauma aside, these potatoes were out of this world! I would take these over mashed potatoes any day, and just ask my mother, that is a huge feat.

The roasted baby reds are finished with a little truffle oil, if you don’t own any; it is a nice decadent ingredient to have on hand. Truffle oil is rather expensive however, $15- $20 for a small bottle, but fear not, a little goes a long way, and it really does add a whole other layer of complexity to you dishes. Finish off your risotto with it, drizzle it over some fried goat cheese or these delectable potatoes. I wish I could afford real truffle mushrooms, but alas, I am a recent college graduate with a writing degree, and no job prospects, so the truffle oil with have to do!

Note: I used baby red potatoes; if you use medium sized potatoes, adjust your baking time accordingly.

Roasted Baby Reds with Truffle Oil

Time: 5 mins prep, 25 roasting   Serves: 6

3-4 lbs baby red potatoes
4 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons parsley
2 tablespoons rosemary
2 tablespoons garlic, minced
1 teaspoon garlic salt
salt
pepper
1 tablespoon white truffle oil

Preheat oven to 450. Clean the baby reds thoroughly. Slice them into fours and place in a large bowl. Add all ingredients, except the truffle oil. Toss well, coating each potato with all flavors. Cooking spray a cookie sheet or jelly roll pan. Dump potatoes onto pan, arranging potatoes so that none are touching.  After 15 minutes, flip potatoes with a large spatula. After 10 more minutes have elapsed, they should be done. Remove from oven, while potatoes are still very hot, drizzle white truffle oil over potatoes. Serve while hot.

This meal is super fulfilling and beautiful to entertain with. I hope you try one of all of these recipes and let me know how they turn out for you! Cocktails are coming up a little later, so get your shakers ready.

Question of the day: What did you always struggle to finish before leaving the table?
I refused to eat cooked carrots and peas. I usually ended up sneaking them to our dog, Mandy. She would patiently wait under the table for a spoonful of my castoff’s to be delivered.

Happy Eating,

M

3 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Filet with Herbed Garlic Butter and Roasted Baby Red Potatoes

Leave a Reply

