5 Minute Decadence: Nutella Mug Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Nutella Mug Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

We have all been there, in that dark and disastrous place. A chocolate craving hits hard, and totally consumes the brain. Not just any average craving, the kind that you would kill your own young for a square of dove chocolate or, the kind that almost warrants a trip to the grocery store in blizzard conditions. The craving may strike while watching the Colbert Report or in the middle of the work day, completely unannounced; but all you can think about is how to stuff your face with as much chocolate as humanly possible.  This was my day today. No matter how I busied myself, I couldn’t tear myself away from the idea that I needed something decadent and delicious, and I needed it NOW!!

Zombie like, I rummaged through our cupboards in search of rouge chocolate chips or even hot chocolate, but alas, there was nothing. Not even a lonely bit sized candy bar left over from Halloween. Panic swelled in my throat. Chocolate, in that very moment was crucial to save myself (and my husband) from a total melt down. But then, my eyes begin to water with the most beautiful sight they have ever fallen upon, a lonely jar of Nutella, hidden in the back of my pantry. It seemed to be calling out to me, illuminated in a halo of goodness by the overhead florescent. It was as if some divine force suddenly declared, “Let there be Nutella,” and all was right with the world again. I briefly debated grabbing a spoon and going to town, but my dignity and pride thought of something better, a gooey, luscious, Nutella mug cake, complete with peanut butter frosting. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made! Start to finish a complete devilish desert that only takes 5 minutes, a microwave and is sure to satisfy.

Nutella Mug Cake
Makes: 1 (Giant mug, I would suggest sharing)

4 tablespoons AP flour
4 tablespoons sugar
1 egg
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
4 tablespoons Nutella
3 tablespoons whole milk or half and half
3 tablespoons vegetable oil

(Modified from Source)

Combine all ingredients in large microwave safe mug. Whisk until lump free and well combined. Microwave on high for 1 1/2 – 3 minutes. (Every microwave is different, I set mine for 1 minute and then did 30 second intervals until the top no longer looked wet. All in all about 2 minutes.)

As if this wasn’t already caloric enough, why not go for a homerun. The homemade peanut butter frosting is truly the icing on the cake!!

Peanut Butter Frosting
Makes enough to frost 2 mug cakes

1 tablespoon butter (room temperature)
5 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
3 tablespoons powder sugar

Beat butter and peanut butter together. Add powdered sugar, mixture will be super stiff at first, but will soften up. Pipe or spoon on to cake.

A cake like this is dangerous knowledge! Warm, gooey and ultra satisfying, everything you need to quench your craving. Next time you need a little chocolate in your life, try it out. You won’t be sorry.

Happy eating,

M

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Decadence: Nutella Mug Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Leave a Reply

